Pass north/national series: ben rowe rules beech ridge


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Media contact Norm Desjardins -

 Scarborough ME (9/16) Ben Rowe took advantage of a lap 281 restart to wrestle the lead away from Joey Doiron and win the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) 300 presented by Southern Maine at Scarborough Maine's Beech Ridge Motor Speedway on Sunday.

The victory was Rowe's first of 2012 and his second in PASS North's richest extra distance event. Doiron hung tough in second and Travis Benjamin finished third. Series point leader Cassius Clark raced under the checkers fourth and Trevor Sanborn returned to the track with a solid fifth.

Rowe was solid all weekend, winning his Saturday qualifier to start on the pole alongside Jay Fogleman. That pair ran one-two for the first 75 laps except for laps 29-32 when Fogleman got the best of Rowe on a restart. Rowe flexed his muscles on lap 33 and led until lap 95 when Cassius Clark took a turn at the point. Kelly Moore was having a great run and he got the best of Clark on a lap 101 restart and stayed out front through the half way mark with Benjamin up to second, Rowe third, Fogleman fourth and Clark now fifth.

Rowe claimed second just before a lap 158 caution that sent many of the front runners to the pits for tires and adjustments. Lonnie Sommerville was quickest out of the pits, rejoining the field in tenth. Meanwhile, Rowe was back in control with Moore second.

The next caution ended strong the strong runs of Moore, DJ Shaw, Tony Ricci and Brad Babb. The lap 162 backstretch melee involved ten cars and ended the day for Moore, Babb, Ricci and Mike Rowe. Shaw returned briefly, finishing 20th and losing substantial ground in the PASS North points battle.

Both Benjamin and Cassius Clark took turns at the front as the field approached the 200-lap mark. Rowe and Benjamin took on tires when the caution flew on lap 184 and Rowe beat Trevor Sanborn, Scott Mulkern and Benjamin back to the battle.

It was Sommerville and Cassius Clark leading the field to green and the preferred outside starting spot got Clark the lead, but a quick caution turned the tables and Sommerville regained control. Rowe had the freshest rubber and he was quickly moving to the front, taking the lead from Sommerville on lap 228.

Joey Doiron had a tough time on qualifying day and the spring Beech Ridge winner started the 300 26th. It was clear early on that Doiron had one of the fastest race cars on the speedway as he clawed his way up from the back of the pack. With 50 laps to go he was on the charge, second to Rowe and ready to pounce when his opportunity came. A lap 257 restart proved to be that opportunity and he took full advantage, taking the lead and looking like he might drive away from the field as Rowe and Benjamin battled for second.

But the yellow flag flew one final time and Rowe had that premium outside starting spot for the restart. Rowe reclaimed the lead he had held much of the day, crossing the stripe .322 seconds ahead of Doiron.

13 of the 32 starters completed all 300 green flag laps. 11 caution flags slowed the race pace.

Qualifying races went to Rowe, Fogleman, and Corey Bubar, who set the race's fastest lap (15.230) before retiring early with mechanical issues. Consolation rounds were won by Glen Luce and Johnny Clark. Bill Rodgers captured the last chance qualifier.

Both the PASS North and PASS National Championship Series move on to North Woodstock New Hampshire's White Mountain Motorsports Park September 22nd for 150 laps. Post time at White Mountain is 5:00 PM.

Be sure to check out all the news, points and photos at Follow the fastest cars and short track stars on Facebook by liking the PRO ALL STARS SERIES.

Unofficial Results – PASS North/National Championship event - PASS 300 presented by Southern Maine – Beech Ridge Motor Speedway – Scarborough ME – 9/16/12

1. 4 Ben Rowe Turner ME 2. 73 Joey Doiron Berwick ME 3. 17 Travis Benjamin Morrill ME 4. 77 Cassius Clark Farmington ME 5. 29 Trevor Sanborn E Parsonsfield ME 6. 4F Jay Fogleman Durham NC 7. 48 Lonnie Sommerville NB CA 8. 54 Johnny Clark Farmingdale ME 9. 10 Scott Dragon Milton VT 10. 53 Bill Rodgers Old Orchard Beach ME 11. 84 Scott Mulkern Falmouth ME 12. 7L Glen Luce Turner ME 13. 7G Curtis Gerry Waterboro ME 14. 2 Matt Matheson Geary NB CA 15. 88 Kyle DeSouza E Providence RI 16. 75 Gary Smith Bangor ME 17. 8 Alan Tardiff Lyman ME 18. 15 Scott Chubbuck Dresden ME 19. 26 John Donahue Graniteville VT 20. 60 DJ Shaw Ctr. Conway NH 21. 47 Kelly Moore Scarborough ME 22. 41 Brad Babb Windham ME 23. 55 Tony Ricci Gorham ME 24. 24 Mike Rowe Turner ME 25. 87 Matt Harris Fredericton NB CA 26. 79 Keith McKinnon Saco ME 27. 22 Aaron Ricker Tamworth NH 28. 33 David Oliver Scarborough ME 29. 7 Donnie Whitten Wells ME 30. 42 Corey Bubar Windham ME 31. 38 Dan McKeage Gorham ME 32. 16 Donnie Colpritt Scarborough ME

PASS 300 top 3 (L to R) Travis Benjamin (3rd) Winner Ben Rowe, Joey Doiron (2nd) (Norm Marx photo).jpgPASS 300 winner Ben Rowe (4) leads Joey Doiron (73) and Travis Benjamin (17) to the checkers (Norm Marx photo).jpg