Jack Sullivan Wins At I-30 Speedway For His Third Straight CCSDS Victory


Contact: Ben Shelton (msrmafia@gmail.com)
September 22nd, 2012

Little Rock, Arkansas  – Jack Sullivan continued his torrid late-season pace with the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) Super Late Model tour by racing to his third straight triumph on Saturday night at I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas)

25 Super Late Model pilots representing four states registered for battle in the $2,000-to-win event, which also marked the final round of the RiceTec/RiceSelect Summer Series. Via heat race action Jack Sullivan earned the pole position for the 35-lap finale, and was joined on the front row by Kuntz & Company Rookie of the Year contender Chandler Petty.

As the event went green Sullivan jumped to a lead that he would never relinquish.  Behind him chaos ensued early and often in the feature as six cautions flew in the first eight laps. The most serious of the incidents came on lap 5, when top five runners Jon Kirby, Morgan Bagley and Jeff Floyd came together on the backstretch. Floyd roll edover in the melee as his and Bagley's night came to an early end. Luckily Floyd would sustain only minor injuries.

The race would ultimately clear the early race carnage as Sullivan maintained the lead, while seventh-starting Kyle Beard worked his way into the second position. Beard was unable to make up any ground on Sullivan, however, as the Greenbrier, AR, driver motored to his third straight win of 2012 with the tour. Following Sullivan across the finish line were Kyle Beard, Jon Mitchell, Tommy Surrett and Shane Harris.

Jon Kirby claimed the RiceTec/RiceSelect Summer Series Championship and received $1,000 for his efforts.

GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 was won by Chandler Petty with Jack Sullivan winning NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2. RiceTec Heat Race #3 was won by Curtis Cook, and Jon Kirby scored the win in Racing Head Service Heat Race #4.

Shane Harris claimed the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for passing thirteen cars on his way to a fifth place finish. 

Jeff Floyd received the Quarter Master Hard Luck Award after getting upside down in the feature. 

The CCSDS now turns its attention to the upcoming weekend, September 28th – 29th, which will see the tour invade Thunderbird Speedway (Muskogee, Oklahoma) for a pair of challenge events with the Mid America Racing Series (MARS). On Friday night a $3,000 winner's purse will be on the line, while Saturday night will be headlined by a $5,000-to-win event. For more information on the races, please visit www.ThunderbirdSpeedwayMuskogee.com.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is sponsored by and would like to thank COMP Cams, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, GRT Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, Woodco, Inc., New Vision Graphics, RiceTec, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Auto Group , NEA Supergas, Killer Coatings, MSR Mafia.com Marketing Services, Tobacco Town Inc., Racing Head Service, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza, speedliquidators.com, Schoenfeld Headers, Surrett Contracting, Lawson Farms, Powerhouse Products, ASI Race Wear, and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit www.COMPDirt.com.

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – September 22nd, 2012
I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR)

Feature Results
1. Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, Arkansas)
2. Kyle Beard (Trumann, Arkansas)
3. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, Texas)
4. Tommy Surrett (North Little Rock, Arkansas)
5. Shane Harris (Sheridan, Arkansas)
6. Brandon Smith (Floral, Arkansas)
7. Gary Christian (Broken Bow, Oklahoma)
8. Jon Kirby (Russellville, Arkansas)
9.  Dewaine Hottinger (Russellville, Arkansas)
10.  Tyler Erb (Magnolia, Texas)
11.  Chandler Petty (Austin, Arkansas)
12.  Keith Lawson (Houston, Arkansas)
13.  Kenneth Jackson (Beebe, Arkansas)
14.  Wesley Crutchfield (Prattsville, Arkansas)
15.  Kevin Sitton (Bayton, Texas)
16.  Stacy Taylor (Jacksonville, Arkansas)
17.  Jeff Floyd (Walnut Ridge, Arkansas)
18.  Morgan Bagley (Longview, Texas)
19.  Curtis Cook (Vilonia, Arkansas)
20.  Joseph Long (Bryant, Arkansas)

DNS: Jason Botsford, Eric Perry, Mike McNay, Arlen Stewart, Trey Beene

Entries: 25 from four states (Arkansas, Kentucky, Texas, Oklahoma)
GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner: Chandler Petty
NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2 Winner:  Jack Sullivan
RiceTec Heat Race #3 Winner:  Curtis Cook
Racing Head Service Heat Race #4 Winner: Jon Kirby
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Jack Sullivan
Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Jeff Floyd
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger:  Shane Harris (18th-5th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Jack Sullivan
Leaders: Jack Sullivan (1-35)
Cautions:  6
Red Flags: 1