Travis swaim celebrates in uara victory lane for the courtesy chevrolet kingsport 150


 Coeburn, VA (9/22/2012) –After winning seven Sunoco Poles, including Saturday night’s, Travis Swaim finally brought home a win for his Falcon Racing team during the Courtesy Chevrolet Kingsport 150 at Lonesome Pine Speedway and another COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race award for Charlie Long.

The win came by passing rookie Sean Rayhall during the green-white-checkered finish. On the double file restart, Rayhall and Swaim were on the front row with Dillon Bassett and Scott Turlington inches behind. On the final lap Bassett, who was running third, made a run for it on the backstretch and brought home a second place finish with Rayhall in third. Bassett earned the Extreme Trohpies & More/Circle Wheel Rookie of the Race award along with the Holley Performer award for gaining the most positions during the race.

Turlington qualified third, but wasted no time getting to the front. He eased by Swaim early in the race and began lapping the field by lap 29. His dominant car put a four-second gap between himself and second place Swaim, but it was erased by a caution for debris. On the restart Swaim caught back up with Turlington and never left his back bumper. Along with his fourth place finish, Turlington was awarded Tilton’s Most Laps Led award for leading 74 circuits throughout the 150-lap event.  

Brandon Jones could have had a rough night, but perseverance paid off for him and his team. The first half of the race was smooth sailing for most UARA teams, but Jones realized he was having tire issues. After coming in during the caution for debris, his team noticed that there was concrete between the rim and tire. His crew played their cards right and kept coming in to fix the issue while under caution. Jones never lost a lap as he beat the pace car out every time. After fixing that issue, he and Ronnie McCarty had contact on the frontstretch during the second half of the race. McCarty made contact with the frontstretch wall and his night would end at this point with Jones sitting at McCarty’s door. Jones backed up and continued on as the field slowed. During this caution the team had more time to perfect their machine. Jones drove back to a rightfully earned fifth place finish earning him the Pigwire Most Electrifying Move of the Race award.

Rookie Jake Morris had his best career start by claiming the outside pole during qualifying. He held a top five position during the first half of the race, but on a restart he realized he busted a right front shock mount. He drove his car to the far high side to give other drivers room while he got a handle on his car. This slid him back all the way to the rear of the field. As the race progressed, he worked his way back up the field and finished eighth.

Kaleb Pressley had a strong car and also worked his way through the field. By the green-white-checkered, he had worked his way from an 11th place starting position to fourth. With the checkered in the air, the top positions drove hard into the fourth turn resulting in a spin for Pressley. Another driver who had a rough night was Coeburn’s very own Danny O’Quinn. O’Quinn qualified sixth and maintained position in the top 10 until his motor blew on lap 109.

The next event for the STARS will be held October 6th at Anderson Motor Speedway in Anderson, South Carolina.

To check out what your favorite drivers are up to until then, follow the UARA-STARS on Twitter (@uarastars) or “like” them on Facebook under the United Auto Racing Association.

For more information on the UARA-STARS, visit them online at or call (828) 692-3833.

Press Release by: Kassie Hughes

 Courtesy Chevrolet Kingsport 150 at Lonesome Pine:

1. Travis Swaim (28)

2. Dillon Bassett (44)

3. Sean Rayhall (14)

4. Scott Turlington (58)

5. Brandon Jones (33)

6. Ben Rhodes (9)

7. Kres, VanDyke (15)

8. Jake Morris (99)

9. Ryan Stiltner (22)

10. Devin Jones (35)

11. Cory Joyce (20)

12. Daniel Pope (10)

13. Kaleb Pressley (54)

14. Jeremy Pike (27)

15. Blake Jones (80)

16. C.J. Hulsey (37)

17. Robbie Henry (41)

18. Ronnie McCarty (5)

19. Danny O’Quinn (02)