Terry phillips takes thunderfest finale at thunderbird speedway in the comp cams super dirt series

Contact: Ben Shelton (msrmafia@gmail.com)

Muskogee, Oklahoma (10/07/12) – After being delayed a day by rain, the Thunderfest finale at Thunderbird Speedway (Muskogee, OK) was held on Sunday afternoon. Terry Phillips claimed the $5,000 win in the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) Super Late Model and MARS Super Late Model challenge race.

26 Super Late Models entered the event, and Jason Sperry earned the New Vision Graphics Pole Award for the feature with Justin Zeitner joining him on the front row. As the 30-lap finale went green, fourth-starting Phillips bolted to the lead. Once out front he never looked back on his way to leading every lap.

Newly crowned 2012 MARS series point champion Jesse Stovall of Republic, MO, raced his way to second after starting ninth. Justin Wells of Aurora, MO; Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, MO; and Justin Zeitner of La Vista, NE, rounded out the top five.

GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 was won by Tony Jackson Jr. with Jason Sperry winning NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2 and RiceTec Heat Race #3 going to Terry Phillips

Tommy Weder Jr. won the Boston’s Sports Bar & Restaurants B-Main.

Will Vaught earned the New Vision Graphics Hard Charger Award after advancing from the 19th starting spot to a seventh place finish in the main event.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) has a single event remaining on the 2012 docket as it invades Riverside International Speedway (West Memphis, Arkansas) on Saturday, October 20th, for the 6th Mid-South Dirt Track Championship. The event will determine the outcome of the 2012 CCSDS points with Jon Mitchell leading by just a few markers over defending champion, Brandon Smith. For more information on the event, please visit www.RiversideInternationalSpeedway.com 

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is sponsored by and would like to thank - COMP Cams, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, GRT Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, Woodco, Inc., New Vision Graphics, RiceTec, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Auto Group, NEA Supergas, Killer Coatings, MSR Mafia.com Marketing Services, Tobacco Town Inc., Racing Head Service, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza, speedliquidators.com, Schoenfeld Headers, Surrett Contracting, Lawson Farms, Powerhouse Products, ASI Race Wear, and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit www.COMPDirt.com.

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – October 7th, 2012
Thunderbird Speedway (Muskogee, OK)

Feature Results

1. Terry Phillips

2. Jesse Stovall

3. Justin Wells

4. Tony Jackson Jr.

5. Justin Zeitner

6. Eric Turner

7. Will Vaught

8. Tommy Weder Jr.

9. Jon Mitchell

10. Jon Kirby

11. Jason Sperry

12. Brandon Smith

13. Shawn Knuckles

14. Gary Christian

15. Dustin Walker

16. Justin Asplin

17. Jon Driskell

18. Randy Roth

19. Cliff Morrow

20. Kyle Slader

21. Jeff Roth

22. Jake Davis

DNS: Brooklin Stephens, Dillon Rupe, Jeremy Morris, Jacob Magee

Entries: 26

GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner: Tony Jackson Jr.

NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2 Winner: Jason Sperry

RiceTec Heat Race #3 Winner: Terry Phillips

Boston’s Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winners: Tommy Weder Jr.

New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Jason Sperry

Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Will Vaught (19th-7th)

COMP Cams Top Performer: Terry Phillips

Leaders: Terry Phillips (1-25)