Wendell wallace wins ccsds battle at riverside; jon mitchell wins the war

Contact: Ben Shelton (msrmafia@gmail.com)
October 20th, 2012

 West Memphis, Arkansas (10/20/12) – Wendell Wallace from Batesville, AR, topped the 2012 series finale for the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) with a $3,000 triumph in the 6th Annual COMP Cams Midsouth Dirt Track Championship Presented by Driven Racing Oil at Riverside International Speedway (West Memphis, Arkansas) on Saturday night. Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, TX, meanwhile overcame adversity early in the night to win the 2012 tour championship in a tiebreaker.

24 Super Late Model pilots representing six states registered for battle at the 1/4 mile oval. After winning the first heat race Jamie Dacus earned the pole for the 35-lap feature with Tanner English starting alongside. English, whose front row starting spot in the same event the year before was nixed minutes before the feature due to mechanical woes, jumped to the lead at the drop of the green flag. He would pace the first 11 laps despite several close encounters in lapped traffic. On lap 12, however, sixth-starting Wendell Wallace completed his charge to the front of the pack by using the low line exiting turn two to race past English for the lead.

As Wallace led the way at the front of the pack for the remainder of the event, the race within the race was between Jon Mitchell and Brandon Smith, who entered the event with only eight markers separating them in the series championship battle. While Smith won his heat race to lock into a starting spot near the front of the pack, Mitchell would have struggles throughout the night and had to come from a B-Main to qualify for the feature. He would then be involved in a lap 11 tangle, which sent him to the tail of the field.  With Smith battling in the top five for the duration of the race, Mitchell mounted a charge through the pack, and in the final corner of the final lap used a daring slide job to steal the seventh position from Keith Lawson. The slide job would prove to be crucial in determining the champion as it tied Mitchell with Smith in the final points. With the tiebreaker being number of feature wins, Jon Mitchell was awarded the championship after claiming one win on the tour in 2012 to none for Smith. Jon Kirby, Curtis Cook and Robert Baker rounded out the top five in the final tour standings.  Baker claimed the Kuntz & Co. Racing Engines Rookie of the Year title.

While Mitchell won the war it was Wendell Wallace who won the battle as he claimed his second straight COMP Cams Midsouth Dirt Track Championship presented by Driven Racing Oil, and his third overall. He is the only driver to win the event more than once. Tanner English, Brandon Smith, Kyle Beard and Jon Kirby completed the top five in the final results.

GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 was won by Jamie Dacus with Ricky Vandergriff winning NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2.  RiceTec Heat Race #3 was won by Tanner English, and Brandon Smith scored the win in Racing Head Service Heat Race #4.

Ashley Newman claimed the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for passing the most cars on his way to a sixth place finish.  He also claimed the $200 bonus from Jimmy Huffman of Huffman Motorsports for being the top-finishing Crate Late Model competitor.

The Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurants B-mains were won by Ashley Newman and Billy Moyer Jr.

Clay Fisher received the Quarter Master Hard Luck Award after losing a driveshaft in hot laps, which forced him to miss his heat race. After starting on the tail of a B-Main he had raced his way into a transfer spot when he had to slow for a lapped car on the final lap, allowing Dillon Knight to slip past to claim the final transfer position as Fisher's night came to an early end.

The event marked the final race of the 2012 campaign for the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Super Late Model tour. The series would like to thank all of the fans, tracks and racers for their support in 2012. Plans for 2013 are already underway. Keep your browsers locked to www.COMPDirt.com for the latest series news.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is sponsored by and would like to thank - COMP Cams, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, GRT Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, Woodco, Inc., New Vision Graphics, RiceTec, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Auto Group, NEA Supergas, Killer Coatings, MSR Mafia.com Marketing Services, Tobacco Town Inc., Racing Head Service, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza, speedliquidators.com, Schoenfeld Headers, Surrett Contracting, Lawson Farms, Powerhouse Products, ASI Race Wear and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit www.COMPDirt.com.

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – October 20th, 2012

6th Annual COMP Cams Midsouth Dirt Track Championship presented by Driven Race Oil

Riverside International Speedway (West Memphis, AR)

Feature Results

1.  Wendell Wallace (Batesville, AR)

2.  Tanner English (Benton, KY)

3.  Brandon Smith (Floral, AR)

4.  Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)

5.  Jon Kirby (Russellville, AR)

6.  Ashley Newman (Ripley, TN)

7.  Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, TX)

8.  Keith Lawson (Houston, AR)

9.  TJ Hughes (Hernando, MS)

10.  Billy Tedford (Pontotoc, MS)

11.  Larry Potter (Alexander, AR)

12.  Kenneth Jackson (Beebe, AR)

13.  Todd Hall (Charleston, MO)

14.  Dillon Knight (Burlison, TN)

15.  Thomas Dacus (Lakeland, TN)

16.  Tommy Surrett (Little Rock, AR)

17.  Jamie Dacus (Lakeland, TN)

18.  Ricky Vandergriff (Marion, AR)

19.  Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR)

20.  Chandler Petty (Austin, AR)

DNS: Lynn Irwin, Mike McNay, Joshua Kahler, Clay Fisher

Entries: 24 from six states (Arkansas, Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, Texas, Missouri)

GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner: Jamie Dacus

NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2 Winner: Ricky Vandergriff 

RiceTec Heat Race #3 Winner: Tanner English

Racing Head Service Heat Race #4 Winner: Brandon Smith

Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winners: Ashley Newman, Billy Moyer Jr.

New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Jamie Dacus

Quarter Master Hard Luck Award:  Clay Fisher

Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger:  Ashley Newman (14th-6th)

COMP Cams Top Performer: Wendell Wallace

Leaders:  Tanner English (1-11), Wendell Wallace (12-35)

Cautions:  3

Red Flags: 1