Bassett jr. wins the battle with campbell for photo finish at hickory In UARA-STARS Action


Hickory, NC (03/23/13) –After a calm season opener, the UARA-STARS drove an aggressive race at Hickory Motor Speedway on Saturday, March 23rd. The event included six cautions, numerous fiery tempers and plenty of torn sheet metal.

Starting from the Sunoco Pole, Ronnie Bassett Jr. jumped out to the lead early on. He allowed many drivers, including eventual second-place finisher Garrett Campbell, to pass him as he saved his equipment. The two also raced side-by-side early in the race and met back up at the front for a lead battle during the final ten laps.

Bassett Jr. earned himself the Pigwire Electricfying Move of the Race when he gained two positions by racing three-wide with David Garbo Jr. and Lee Tissott coming out of turn three. Campbell won the FLUIDYNE Cool Under Pressure Award by racing hard, but clean. Campbell led early in the race, fell back to preserve his tires, and then went back to the front to earn his second-place finish. Ben Rhodes, Garbo Jr. and Dillon Bassett completed the top five. Garbo Jr. made an impressive comeback with his fourth-place finish after making contact during the first caution on the second lap. He was awarded Circle/Xtreme Trophies Rookie of the Race for finishing the highest out of seven rookies.

Rookie drivers like Garrett Jones, Chandler LeVan and Tyler Edwards had strong runs, resulting in top-ten finishes. Holley Performer and Tilton’s Most Laps Led Winner, Chanler LeVandrove, his machine up from 21st to the lead within the first 20 laps. He flew by veteran competitors and performed flawless restarts while he was out front. As the race grew older, his Hoosier tires began to wear down but he still managed to pull off a seventh-place finish.

CJ Hulsey got turned around early in the race, damaging his machine, as well as those of Davide Amaduzzi, and Michael Leavine. Hulsey and Leavine were able to repair their damage, but Italian driver Amuduzzi ended his first UARA event early. Amaduzzi'a team mate, fellow Italian Max Papis, had engine problems during practice early in the day and dropped out before qualifying.

Spencer Euler seemed to have his hands full with his machine. Euler spun twice and got caught up in a late race battle with rookie Dylan Hall and Jake Engle.

Since the weather postponed races at tracks like Myrtle Beach Speedway and Greensville-Pickens, the UARA-STARS field grew by two cars throughout the day. Engle drove all the way from Myrtle Beach, and Kris Bowen drove from Greensville to give the STARS some outside competition. Bowen had a hard hit to the outside wall during the second half of the race. Brandon White, Will Gallaher and Hall spun in the aftermath, but managed to only sustain minor damage and continued to race.

The ARBodies Hard Luck Award went to reigning UARA champion Travis Swaim. Swaim had another quick lap during qualifying, giving him the outside pole position. During the event, he raced hard and made contact with Dillon Bassett, resulting in a cut tire with only a few laps to go. Swaim held on to the car though to the car and never lost control.

Fans were given quite a show during the entire race. While there were cautions early and late in the event, the middle was equally eventful. Drivers from seventh place through 29th traveled around the track in a huge pack, bouncing off each other and racing side-by-side.  Second-year drivers Devin Jones and Brandon Jones were hungry for the win and drove hard to the front. Devin drove all the way to second position during the first half of the race.

The next event for the STARS will be Rockingham on April 13th as a companion to the the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Fans can follow their favorite STARS and get all the latest information on the series by following on Twitter, @uarastars, and clicking “like” on Facebook under the United Auto Racing Association.  When technology cooperates, the series page on Facebook features all UARA race day updates.


UARA STARS 150 Results:

1. 04 Ronnie Bassett Jr.

2. 12 Garrett Campbell

3. 41 Ben Rhodes

4. 8 David Garbo, Jr.

5. 44 Dillon Bassett

6. 88 Garrett Jones

7. 81 Chandler LeVan

8. 35 Devin Jones

9. 7 Tyler Edwards

10. 33 Brandon Jones

11. 17 Travis Byrd

12. 99 Brandon White

13. 4 Dylan Hall

14. 71 Taylor Strickland

15. 1 Dillon Houser

16. 27 Lee Tissott

17. 28 Travis Swaim

18. 95 Michael Leavine

19. 40 Brodie Kostecki

20. 80 Kris Bowen

21. 6 Will Gallaher

22. 39 Spencer Euler

23. 2 Jake Engle

24. 77 CJ Hulsey

25. 31 Thomas Bean

26. 11 Davide Amaduzzi

27. 38 Max Papis DNQ